REXOR

      
12 April 2017

The transparent barriers

The plastic films for food packaging are often coated with one or more oxygen and / or water vapor barrier layers, this is dependant of the food packaged.

Apart from the well-known films such as aluminum vacuum metallised or aluminum foil complexes, the packages can be made of films coated with transparent barrier layers.

The main advantage of films with transparent barrier layer is that they allow the consumer to see the packaged foods and thus reassure the consumer on what he buys.

One of the most widely used transparent barrier layers is PVdC, because PVdC has several advantages: it provides a good barrier to water vapor (WVTR) and oxygen (OTR), it can also be printed with gravure or flexo printing techniques, and can seal on to itself; but PVdC says: Chlorine.

Why is the presence of "chlorine" also decried ?

Plastic packaging is often recovered by incineration, and in this stage, packaging containing PVdC can "release" dioxins. The incineration centers are equipped with filters that prevent the release of these toxic substances into the atmosphere, so do not be afraid of PVdC coated films.

Which transparent barrier layers without chlorine ?

PVOH - EVOH

The coextruded or coated EVOH or PVOH resins provide excellent oxygen barriers (OTRs).
Consideration should be given to the construction of food packaging and to protect the EVOH or PVOH layer from moistures as these EVOH or PVOH layers will be places as far as possible from the moist environment.
An combination of an EVOH layer with a plyolefin film will provide both a good moisture barrier (provided by the PE or PP film) and an excellent oxygen barrier provided by the PVOH resin or EVOH.

Alumina oxide or silica oxide

A layer of Al deposited under vacuum giving an opaque apperance and causes the disadvantages mentioned at the beginning of the article, can be replaced by aluminum oxide (AlOx). This layer of AlOx makes it possible to obtain a transparent layer with good performances for OTR and WVTR.
This layer of alumina oxide is a layer of a few nanometers and is very sensitive to scratching.
Given this major disadvantage, the layer will have to be protected, more generally "encapsulated" by laminating.

The vacuum metallising machines can metalise, both Al and AlOx.

Another oxide such as SiO x (silica oxide) also makes it possible to obtain a transparent barrier layer with a good level of barrier to gas and water vapor, but also remains a very brittle layer that must be protected.

To conclude

There are therefore different solutions of transparent barrier layers with or without chlorine, which make it possible to produce barrier food packaging (cf.article "barrier packaging"). It will nevertheless be necessary to choose the best technical and economic solution according to the levels of barriers required.

Pascal Rousset, R & D Manager

Food
About Communication Rexor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cookies ensure the good functioning of our services. By using our services, you agree to the use of cookies. En savoir plusAccept

Les barrières transparentes

12
Avr 17
REXOR BLOG

Les films plastiques destinés à l’emballage alimentaire sont souvent recouverts d’une ou de plusieurs couches barrières à l’oxygène et/ou à la vapeur d’eau, en fonction de l’aliment emballé.

Hormis les films très connus comme ceux métallisés sous vide à l’aluminium ou les complexes à base de feuilles d’aluminium, les emballages peuvent être constitués de films enduits avec des couches transparentes barrières.

L’avantage principal des films avec couches barrières transparentes, et qu’ils permettent de visualiser les aliments emballés et ainsi rassurer le consommateur sur ce qu’il achète.

Une des couches barrières transparente très utilisée est le PVdC, car le PVdC a plusieurs avantages : il permet d’obtenir une bonne barrière à la vapeur d’eau (WVTR) et à la l’oxygène (OTR), il peut être également imprimé en hélio gravure ou flexo-gravure, et peut sceller sur lui-même ; mais qui dit PVdC dit : Chlore.

Pourquoi la présence de « chlore » est elle aussi décriée ?

Les emballages plastiques sont souvent valorisés par incinération, et lors de cette étape, les emballages contenant du PVdC peuvent « relarguer » des dioxines. Les centres d’incinérations sont équipés de filtres qui empêchent le relargage dans l’atmosphère de ces substances toxiques, il ne faut donc pas avoir peur des films enduits PVdC.

REXOR BLOG

Quelles couches barrières transparentes sans chlore ?

PVOH – EVOH

Les résines EVOH ou PVOH co-extrudées ou enduites permettent d’atteindre d’excellentes barrières à l’oxygène (OTR).
Il conviendra de veiller à la construction de l’emballage alimentaire et de protéger la couche EVOH ou PVOH de l’humidité car ces couches EVOH ou PVOH sont sensibles à l’humidité. La couche EVOH ou PVOH sera placée la plus loin possible de l’ambiance humide.
Une association d’une couche EVOH avec un film de type polyoléfine permettra d’obtenir à la fois une bonne barrière à l’humidité (apportée par le film PE ou PP), et une excellente barrière à l’oxygène apportée par la résine PVOH ou EVOH.

– Oxyde l’alumine ou Oxyde de silice

Une couche d’Al déposée sous vide donnant un aspect opaque et entraine les inconvénients cités en début d’article, peut être remplacée par l’oxyde d’aluminium (AlOx). Cette couche d’AlOx permet en effet d’obtenir une couche transparente avec de bonnes performances OTR et WVTR.
Cette couche d’oxyde d’alumine est une couche de quelques nanomètres et est très sensible à la rayure.
Etant donné cet inconvénient majeur, la couche devra être protégée, le plus généralement « encapsulée » par complexage.

Les machines de métallisation sous vide permettent de métalliser à ce jour, à la fois en Al et en AlOx.

Un autre oxyde tel que le SiOx (Oxyde de silice) permet également d’obtenir une couche barrière transparente avec un bon niveau de barrière au gaz et à la vapeur d’eau, mais reste également une couche très fragile qu’il conviendra de protéger.

Conclusion

Il existe donc différentes solutions de couches barrières transparentes avec ou sans chlore qui permettent de réaliser des emballages alimentaires barrières (cf article « les emballages barrières ») ; il conviendra néanmoins de choisir la meilleure solution technique et économique en fonction des niveaux de barrières requis.

Pascal Rousset, Responsable R&D

écrit Posted in Fonctions

Add a Comment

Les cookies assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En utilisant ces derniers, vous acceptez l'utilisation des cookies. En savoir plusAccepter